About the Trust

Purpose of the Kaharoa Kokako Trust
The Kaharoa Kokako Trust was formed in 1997 by a group of local residents who wanted to save the few kokako that remained in the area.

By reducing the number of possums and ship rats in the Kaharoa Conservation Area, we have enabled kokako numbers to grow.

The increasing number of kokako at Kaharoa is living proof of how the community can play a vital role in enhancing the environment.

The Trust works closely with the Department of Conservation to achieve these successful results. This relationship is formalised through a Memorandum of Understanding.

Listen to a programme about us on Radio NZ's Countrylife

How did the Kaharoa Kokako Trust get started?
From 1988 to 1997, Kaharoa Forest was part of an important national study by Landcare Research and the Department of Conservation. Results showed that predation by possums and ship rats were the main cause for the widespread decline of kokako in New Zealand forests (Innes, J. et al 1999).

Following completion of this experiment, the Department of Conservation had no immediate funding available for continued pest control. Kaharoa residents Peter Davey and Rachael Vellinga began discussion with DOC about alternative pest control arrangements.

In 1997 volunteers established 160 bait stations throughout 300 ha of Kaharoa Forest. After a strong start, the Trust was formally incorporated Jan 1998 based on a Memorandum of Understanding with the Department of Conservation.

In 2000, pest control was extended to the Onaia Ecological Area, increasing total bait stations to over 550.

Current activities
The main activities of the Trust relate to pest control of possums and ship rats. This labour-intensive work is carried out by groups of dedicated volunteers. During the nesting season bait stations are filled with poison bait. These bait stations are connected by a large network of tracks that must be maintained every year.


Notification of ground based 1080 operation at Kaharoa Conservation Area

(access at end of Kapukapu and Kaharoa Roads)

Sodium fluoroacetate (1080) in cereal bait pellets will be manually placed in bait stations in the Kaharoa Conservation Area on Saturday 24 September 2016. Any remaining bait will be removed by 8 October 2016. This operation is being carried out by the Kaharoa Kokako Trust for the purpose of reducing possum and rat numbers.

Dogs are not allowed in the Conservation Area. Any dogs scavenging possum or rat carcasses in or near the area between  September 2016 and February 2017 could incur secondary poisoning. The presence of warning signs indicates that pesticide residues may still be present. 


The Trust also conducts monitoring of kokako numbers to determine the size and spread of the kokako population. The results of monitoring shows that the kokako numbers have increased significantly since the Trust began pest control in 1997.

Another major role of the Kaharoa Kokako Trust is to ensure community buy-in to the project and encourage wide-spread support.

Who is on the Kaharoa Kokako Trust?

Sue Williams (Chair), Peter Williams (Treasurer), Emma Bean (Secretary), Carmel Richardson, Dale Williams, Graeme Young.

Patrons: Peter Davey and Rachael Dixon-Davey

Our Success
Kaharoa Kokako Trust is widely recognised as a successful model for other community conservation groups to follow.

Kaharoa Kokako Trust Awards
2001 - Winner of Trustpower Spirit of Rotorua Heritage & Environment Award
2005 - Department of Conservation (Bay of Plenty) Outstanding Contribution to Conservation Award
2005 - Trustpower Spirit of Rotorua Award - commendation in Heritage & Environment
2006 – Overall winner of Environment Bay of Plenty Conservation Award
2007 – North Island Kokako Recovery Group acknowledgement to the Trust's significant contribution to the Kokako Recovery Programme
2008 - Runner up Trustpower Spirit of Rotorua Heritage & Environment Award
2010 – Green Ribbon Award (supreme winner)


The Kaharoa Kokako Trust won the 2010 Supreme Green Ribbon Award (L to R) Margaret Horner (Former Secretary) John Paterson (Trustee) and Anne Managh (Former Chair)